Movers and Shakers, Government | January – February, 2022

Julie Inman Grant
Newly re-appointed eSafety Commissioner Julie Inman Grant

Australia’s chief criminal intelligence agency appoints new CIO; eSafety commissioner appointed for second consecutive five-year term, as controversial Online Safety Act enters into force; and NSW selects Secretary to lead its new Enterprise Investment and Trade function.

– The Australian Criminal Intelligence Commission has formally appointed Samuel Lewis as Chief Information Officer.

The move follows a restructure of the ACIC’s technology division last year, with Lewis, who served two years as the agency’s Chief Technology Officer, stepping up as interim CIO last December.

The position was vacated by Stewart Sibree, who has since stepped in as interim Executive Director of ACIC’s new intelligence and information systems division.

As the chief criminal intelligence agency, ACIC oversees national information and intelligence sharing services used by state and territory law enforcement services.


– NSW’s Department of Planning and Environment has created a new information security function, to be overseen by a to-be-appointed Chief Information Security Officer (CISO).

The new function, which sits within the Department’s digital information office, was revealed earlier this month via a job advertisement for the CISO role, iTnews reports.

The new CISO will “take ownership in setting up” the function, including delivery of a new security operating model and “a high-end cyber security program across the Department”.

“As one of the largest departments in the NSW Government, it is important we stay abreast of the latest technologies and information to protect our customers and staff from potential cyber-attacks,” a spokesperson told the tech publisher.


– The Federal Government has reappointed Julie Inman Grant as eSafety Commissioner for a second consecutive five-year term.

Inman Grant, a former Microsoft, Twitter and Adobe executive, has served as eSaftey Commissioner since 2017.

“The Online Safety Act commences operation today and Ms Inman Grant’s reappointment provides certainty, particularly to community organisations and industry who have been working with the office of the eSafety Commissioner for some time,” Minister for Communications, Urban Infrastructure, Cities and the Arts, Paul Fletcher said in a statement.

“Today’s reappointment, and the simultaneous commencement of the Online Safety Act, will enhance Australia’s position as a world leader in online safety,” Fletcher added.

The reappointment comes as the Government’s controversial Online Safety Act becomes law, giving the eSafety Commissioner new powers to issue take-down notices to a number of online services hosting content deemed to be harmful.


The NSW Government has appointed Amy Brown as Secretary of its newly formed Department of Enterprise Investment and Trade.

Brown will continue in her role as Chief Executive Officer of Investment NSW while she heads up the new Department.

“The establishment of the Department of Enterprise, Investment and Trade is at the heart of the NSW government’s commitment to economic development, embracing science, innovation and emerging technology while setting up the NSW economy for sustained success into the future,” Minister for Enterprise, Investment and Trade, Tourism and Sport, and for Western Sydney, Stuart Ayres said in a statement.

A reconfiguration of ministerial portfolios late last year by Premier Perrottet saw Investment NSW shifted out of the premier’s cluster to a new Enterprise Investment and Trade cluster.

Brown commenced the new role on 31 January.


– Michelle Fitzgerald has announced her departure from the City of Melbourne after six years as the council’s inaugural Chief Digital Officer and concurrent Customer and Digital General Manager.

Fitzgerald announced her move via LinkedIn, praising her colleagues for their “support, and for the opportunity to implement digital and data solutions for the benefit of our community and staff for the past six years”.

She joins St Vincents Health as Group CDO.


– Steven Worrall has been appointed Chair of the NSW Skills Board for a two-year term.

Worrall, who also serves as Microsoft Australia Managing Director, has been a member of the Skills Board since January 2021.

He replaces outgoing Chair, Philip Clark.

The Board provides independent advice to the NSW Government on the skills and training needs of industry, regions, and the economy.

“NSW faces many challenges at the moment, and meeting the skills and training needs of the economy is at the top of the list,” Worrall said in a statement.

“For the economy to thrive once more, every sector needs a skilled workforce to meet the skills demands of today and the workforce of the future.”


– The CSIRO has appointed its current Chief Operations Office Judi Zielke as Acting Chief Executive of the Australian Research Council (ARC).

Zielke steps into the role vacated by Professor Sue Thomas, who stood down five months before ending her full five-year term at the ARC.

CSIRO’s Chief Finance Officer Tom Munyard steps in as the agency’s Chief Operating Officer during Zielke’s tenure at the ARC.

The ARC is responsible for around $800 million of research funding each year.


– The Victorian Government has appointed Grant Dooley as Chief Executive Officer of Breakthrough Victoria – which oversees the Government’s $2 billion R&D investment fund.

Dooley has previously served as a trade official for the Australian Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade, including two years as the Australian Consul General in Guangzhou, China between 2010-12.


The Queensland Government has appointed Paxton Booth as the State’s new Privacy Commissioner.

Booth is a barrister and former Executive Director of the Crime and Corruption Commission.

He assumes his new role in December following the expiration of Philip Green’s term as Privacy Commissioner.


The Australian Taxation Office has promoted Ying Yang to the position of Assistant Commissioner of Data Science.

Dr Yang has served more than a decade at the ATO, most recently as Senior Director of Data Science.


The NSW Government has appointed Dr Paul Grimes PSM as the 28th Secretary of the NSW Treasury following the departure of Michael Pratt AM.

Dr Grimes is a former Secretary for the Commonwealth Department of Sustainability, Environment, Water, Population and Communities, and the Commonwealth Department of Agriculture.

Pratt praised his successor “as one of the nation’s leading public servants”.

“[Combined] with his extensive treasury knowledge and experience, Dr Grimes is ideally placed to help guide the NSW economy through the next phase of the pandemic and set us up for the future.”

Pratt served almost five years as Treasury Secretary, notching up close to a decade in the NSW public service.

“Mr Pratt has made an enormous contribution to NSW during his near-decade of service. In July 2012 he was appointed as the State’s inaugural Customer Service Commissioner, leading the reform of service delivery to citizens and business,” the NSW Government wrote in a statement.

“He also led the design, build and implementation of Service NSW, including the delivery of the Service NSW App and the digital driver’s licence, now replicated across other NSW licences.”

Premier Dominic Perrottet recognised Pratt’s “vital and leading role in guiding the economy” through the Covid-19 pandemic.

“Mr Pratt has helped revolutionise the way government interacts with the public and through his incredible commitment, dedication and professionalism helped deliver better services and outcomes for people right across the State for years to come.”