Movers & Shakers: Government Sector | June–July, 2020

Movers & Shakers

June saw a number of high-profile appointments across the public sector, with noteworthy additions to the DTA, Victoria’s Government Services ministry, and the CSIRO.


The Federal Government has appointed Kirstjen Nielsen to advise the Government on its cybersecurity strategy, set to be released this year. Nielsen formerly served as US secretary of homeland security.

The Digital Transformation Agency has appointed Scott Cass-Dunbar as its new Chief Strategy Officer. Cass-Dunbar replaces Anthony Vlasic who departed the role earlier this year to join the Boston Consulting Group.

In a ministerial shake-up, the Victorian Government has appointed Danny Pearson as its next Minister for Government Services, overseeing public sector, cybersecurity, and citizen digital transaction reforms. Pearson also assumes the role of Assistant Treasurer and Minister for Regulatory Reform. Jaala Pulford has also been appointed Minister for Innovation, Medical Research and the Digital Economy following a shake-up of the jobs and trade portfolios.

South Australia’s Australian Cyber Collaboration Centre (A3C) has appointed Hai Tran to the position of Chief Executive. Based in Adelaide’s Lot Fourteen innovation precinct, the A3C becomes operational in July supported by a $10 million investment from the state Government. Tran formerly served as Chief Information Officer with WA Police.

The CSIRO has reappointed Dr Larry Marshall as Chief Executive for another three years. Marshall joined the agency in 2015. The country’s chief research agency has also appointed Kirsten Rose as its Executive Director, Future Industries.

The NSW Government has appointed Hugh Durrant-Whyte as the state’s Natural Resources Commissioner for a five-year term. Durrant-Whyte will retain his role as the Chief Scientist and Engineer for NSW.

Invest Victoria has appointed Jackie Fairley as its inaugural Chair.

The Internet of Things Alliance Australia, a peak body for the IoT industry, has appointed David Spence as Chair.

AustCyber has commenced its search for a Manager to lead its NSW Cyber Security Innovation Node. The successful candidate will lead the NSW node in coordination with AustCyber and the NSW Treasury.

Alan Davidson, project director within Services Australia, was recognised on the Queen’s Birthday honours list for “innovative program digitisation and development for welfare payment infrastructure”.

Andrew Mills, the Queensland Government’s long-serving Chief Information Officer, has left the position. The move follows the appointment of the state’s first Chief Digital and Customer Officer Chris Fechner in February.