Movers & Shakers | December 2019–January, 2020

Movers & Shakers

December 2019 and the new year saw a number of high-profile appointments across the financial services sector, with noteworthy additions to ING, Suncorp, and Westpac.


Westpac has appointed John McFarlane to its Board as Non-Executive Director and Chairman-Elect, succeeding Lindsay Maxsted on 2 April 2020.

ING Australia has appointed Linda Da Silva to the position of Chief Information Officer.

NAB subsidiary MLC Wealth has appointed Darren McKenzie to the position of Chief Technology and Operations Officer.

Suncorp has appointed Lee Hatton, former UBank Chief Executive, to the position of Chief Executive of Suncorp’s Banking & Wealth division; Jeremy Robson has also been appointed Suncorp’s Group Chief Financial Officer.

Replacing Hatton as UBank chief, the NAB-owned challenger bank has appointed Glen Aiton to serve as interim Chief Executive.

Westpac has announced Rachel Grimes, currently Chief Financial Officer of Group Technology, will step up to fill the role vacated by former Deputy Chief Financial Officer David Lees. Lees will assume a new, as yet unannounced, position at TAL.

Westpac has appointed Colin Carter AM to serve on its three-member Advisory Panel to assess Board risk governance and accountability stemming from an AUSTRAC investigation into the bank’s alleged contraventions of the AML/CTF ActCarter joins confirmed Panel members Dr Ziggy Switkowski AO and Dr Kerry Schott AO.

The Bank of Queensland (BOQ) has appointed Kathy Cummings to the newly created role of General Manager, Broker.

The Australian Military Bank has appointed Darlene Mattiske-Wood as the bank’s new Chief Executive. Mattiske-Wood will replace outgoing Chief Executive John Ford who served seven years at the helm of the bank.

ANZ has appointed Peter Chan to the position of Chief Executive ANZ Hong Kong. Chan will report to Huang Xiaoguang, Country Head China & Head of Greater China.

The Sydney Stock Exchange (SSX) has appointed Michael Go to the position of Chief Executive.

The Australian Banking Association (ABA) has appointed Commonwealth Bank chief Matt Comyn as Chair.

MetLife has appointed Wendy Tse to the newly created position of Chief of Staff and External Affairs.

HESTA has promoted within, appointing Andrew Major as its first Chief Risk and Compliance Officer.

Neo-lender Wisr has appointed Joanne Edwards to lead its credit risk optimisation and data analytics program. Edwards most recently served as Head of Customer Risk and General Manager Unsecured Risk at CBA.

ING Australia has appointed Dr John Laker as the company’s Board Chair.

NAB has appointed Simon McKeon to its Board as Non-Executive Director.

AMP has appointed Rahoul Chowdry as Non-Executive Director to its Board. Chowdry replaces Peter Varghese AO who is set to retire from the Board at the end of his current term on 8 May 2020.

The Australian Securities Exchange (ASX) has appointed Robert Woods as Non-Executive Director.

IAG has announced Group Executive Ben Bessell will resign from the insurance group at the end of March 2020.

CBA has announced General Manager of Group Communication Zoe Viellaris will depart the company.

Cbus Super has announced Chief Executive David Atkin will depart in mid-2020.

Tasmania-based MyState Bank has announced Chief Executive and Managing Director Melos Sulicich will resign in July 2020.

BDCU Alliance Bank has announced Chief Executive Jan Edwards will retire at the end of the year after nearly 25 years as CEO of the community bank.

New Zealand

ANZ New Zealand has appointed Antonia Watson to the position of Chief Executive.

BNZ has appointed Paul Richardson to the board of its BNZ Investment Services arm.