Movers & Shakers, Financial Services | April–May, 2020

Movers & Shakers

April saw a number of high-profile appointments and departures across the financial services industry, with noteworthy additions to the big four banks, IAG, and Suncorp.

Westpac has formally appointed Peter King to the position of Chief Executive. King has served as acting CEO since the departure of former chief Brian Hartzer last December.

ANZ has appointed Emma Gray to the newly created position of Group Executive Data and Automation.

NAB has concurrently appointed Rachel Slade to the position of Group Executive, Personal Banking and Nathan Goonan to the position of Group Executive, Strategy and Innovation.

NAB has also appointed Michael Saadie as interim Chief Customer Officer following the departure of CCO Anthony Healy last month. Saadie currently serves as Chief Risk Officer for Private Banking.

IAG has appointed Nick Hawkins to the position of Deputy Chief Executive. Hawkins had served as IAG’s Group Chief Financial Officer. Michelle McPherson, currently CFO for IAG’s Australia division, has been appointed Acting Group CFO in Hawkins’ stead.

IAG has also appointed Steve Marshall to the position of Executive General Manager Business Distribution, responsible for overseeing IAG’s business products and strategic partnerships, including its broker network.

Suncorp Super has appointed Jennifer McSpadden to the position of Executive Manager, Member Proposition and Innovation. McSpadden formerly served as General Manager for Engagement at Media Super.

The Australian Competition and Consumer Commission (ACCC) has appointed Scott Gregson as acting Chief Operating Officer following the retirement of serving COO Rayne de Gruchy.

The Financial Services Council (FSC) has appointed Blake Briggs to the position of Deputy Chief Executive. Briggs formerly served as Westpac’s Head Government Affairs.

Christian Super has appointed Astrid Dare to the position of Chief Member Engagement Officer, adding analytics, insights, and member engagement functions to her existing functions. Dare formerly served as the fund’s head of brand and marketing. She replaces Nathan Buttigieg, who now serves as the fund’s Chief for Operations and Product.

The Federal Government has appointed former Tasmanian Premier Will Hodgman as inaugural Chair of the Australia Business Growth Fund – a Federal Government program working with Australian banks and superannuation funds to support local businesses with equity capital injections.

The Commonwealth Bank has appointed Stephen Halmarick to the position of Chief Economist following the departure of Michael Blythe, who served more than two decades in the role.

The Australian Financial Complaints Authority (AFCA) has appointed Heather Gray as the Lead Ombudsman for the superannuation sector and Natalie Cameron as Lead Ombudsman for investments and advice. Cameron formerly served as Chief of Customer Operations for MLC Life Insurance; Gray previously led the national superannuation practice for Hall & Wilcox.

Heritage Bank has appointed Peter Clare as Director to its Board following the departure of Vivienne Quinn who served more than two decades in the role. Quinn attended her final Heritage board meeting on 30 April.

Police Bank has appointed Peter Remfrey as acting Chair and Raff Del Vecchio as acting Deputy Chair while the Board undergoes a formal selection process.

NAB has announced the departure of Mike Baird, who served as NAB’s Chief Customer Officer of Consumer Banking. Baird served as Premier of NSW between 2014-2017.

IAG has announced the forthcoming departure of Peter Harmer, Managing Director and Chief Executive, at the end of 2020. IAG is seeking a replacement.

CBA has announced that Michael Cant, Executive General Manager for Strategic Development, will depart the organisation. Cant served nearly 20 years in the role.