Movers & Shakers, Government Sector | August – September, 2020

Movers & Shakers

August saw a number of noteworthy appointments and departures across Australia’s public sector, with key additions to Services Australia and the DHA, as well as a major recruitment drive at Cyber Security NSW.

Cyber Security NSW’s team is set to quadruple, with the Government adding 75 staff to its current workforce of 25. The new appointments are expected to give the cyber team added resources to support smaller agencies and local governments. The announcement follows the recent announcement of a three-year, $240 million commitment by the NSW Government to cybersecurity.


Meanwhile, the Department of Defence will slash more than 100 jobs from the Defence Science and Technology (DST) Group, Defence’s chief R&D arm. The Community and Public Sector Union said the cuts were a direct result of the Government’s Average Staffing Level cap policy.


After a two-month search, Services Australia has appointed former DFAT Chief Information Officer Tim Spackman as its next Chief Information Security Officer. Spackman replaces Narelle Devine who departed federal Services department in July to take on a new role as Telstra’s CISO for Asia Pacific.


The Australian Digital Health Agency will bid farewell to its Chief Information Officer, Ronan O’Connor, after three years at the agency. Connor resigned to join the US-headquartered Healthcare Information and Management Systems Society (HIMSS), a not-for-profit.


Leigh Jasper has been appointed Chair of LaunchVic, Victoria’s start-up support agency. Jasper is co-founder and former Chief Executive of Victorian startup Aconex. He is joined by Ilona CharlesTeresa Engelhard and Aneetha de Silva as new board appointees. 


Victoria’s Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) has put the call out this month for a new Chief Information Security Officer to oversee internal IT security. The CISO will lead cybersecurity strategy and implement work under the DHHS cybersecurity and action plan.


The Australian Digital Health Agency announced the appointment of Dr Steve Hambleton as an independent clinical advisor to the team. The DHA said Hambleton will “provide clinical input to Agency governance committees”.


Stella Ward, Chief Digital Officer at the Canterbury and West Coast District Health Boards (DHBs), has resigned. Ward is among seven senior executives to leave the Canterbury DHB since July, including Chief Executive David Meates and Chief People Officer Michael Frampton. All were considered “keen supporters and enablers of the DHB’s digital transformation journey”.


The Australian Competition and Consumer Commission (ACCC) has promoted Scott Gregson to Chief Operating Officer. Gregson most recently served as EGM of the competition watchdog’s Merger and Authorisation Review division. He replaces Rayne de Gruchy who retired in April.


The Federal Government has reappointed Chair Julieanne Alroe and fellow board members, Deena Shiff and Reece Waldock, to the Infrastructure Australia (IA) board for another year. The board is currently tasked with helping to guide the Government’s $100 billion infrastructure pipeline.


The Australian Department of Industry has established two new National Blockchain Roadmap Working Groups. Two additional working groups in the areas of cybersecurity and regtech will also be formed later in September.


The Federal Government has appointed Maree Adshead as Small Business Commissioner, serving until the end of 2020. Adshead will be tasked with assisting the sector’s recovery from the Covid-19 downturn.


Penny McKay will assume the role of Deputy Commonwealth Ombudsman for a five-year term, replacing Jaala Hinchcliffe who was appointed Integrity Commissioner earlier this year.


The NSW Government has appointed Paul Miller as Acting NSW Ombudsman. Miller currently serves as Deputy Ombudsman, overseeing reviews, investigations, and community services.


Chris Lamont has been appointed the new NSW Small Business Commissioner.


The Federal Government has reappointed Drew Clarke to the board of NBN Co for a three-year term.


Businessman Simon Hickey has been appointed Chief Executive of the Western Sydney Airport, replacing inaugural CEO Graham Millett. Hickey will serve a five-year term.