NSW names new minister for digital govt

Chris Minns, the newly elected premier of New South Wales, has revealed his full list of ministerial appointments this week, announcing Jihad Dib will take on the Customer Service and Digital Government portfolios.

Additionally, Dib will serve as Minister for Emergency Services and Youth Justice.

Prior to being elected to the NSW Parliament in 2015, Dib was principal of Punchbowl Boys’ High. He was also formerly a board member on the Australia Day Council of NSW, the NSW Police Commissioner’s Advisory Panel, and the SBS Community Advisory Committee.

Anoulack Chanthivong has also been named as the new Minister of Innovation, Science and Technology. He will also hold portfolios for Better Regulation and Fair Trading, Industry and Trade and Corrections.

Additionally, Timothy Carson has been appointed Minister for Skills, TAFE and Tertiary Education and Minister for the Hunter.

The Minns Ministry will be a slightly reduced Cabinet of 22 ministers and will include 50 per cent women (excluding the premier).

According to the NSW Labor website, among the key priorities of the new Government include:

  • rebuilding essential services;
  • investing in the people who look after its citizens – nurses, teachers, paramedics, police officers and firefighters by removing the wages cap;
  • dealing with the crisis in our schools and hospitals;
  • dealing with the energy crisis; and
  • helping with the rising cost of living.

“I’m proud of the team we have. We have a lot of hard work in front of us, and a big responsibility, but my team and I are up to the challenge,” NSW Premier Chris Minns said.

“Our priority is to help families and households deal with the increasing cost of living, the energy crisis and to fix our schools and hospitals.”