Movers and Shakers | June-July, 2018

Movers & Shakers

June saw a number of high-profile appointments across the financial services industry and government agencies, with noteworthy additions to CBA, ANZ, Manulife and Maybank.


ANZ has appointed Adrian Went to the position of Group Treasurer.

The National Australia Bank (NAB) has appointed Tania Motton to the position of Customer Executive, NAB Partners – Southern.

Commonwealth Bank of Australia (CBA) has announced six appointments to their Executive Leadership Team:
Nigel Williams has been appointed Chief Risk Officer (CRO);
David Cohen has been appointed Deputy Chief Executive Officer, moving from his current role as Chief Risk Officer;
Pascal Boillat has been appointed Group Executive Enterprise Services and Chief Information Officer;
Sian Lewis has been appointed Group Executive Human Resources;
Andrew Hinchliff has been appointed Group Executive Institutional Banking and Markets;
Angus Sullivan has been appointed Group Executive Retail Banking Services.

MetLife Australia has appointed Gerard McDermott to the position of Chief Strategy & Customer Officer.

The Bank of Queensland (BOQ) has appointed Debra Eckersley to the position of Executive, People and Culture.

National Australia Bank (NAB) has appointed Clare Petre to the position of Independent Customer Advocate for NAB Wealth’s products, services and advice.

AMP has reappointed Mike Wilkins to the position of acting Chief Executive. Wilkins will remain in this position until the transition to a new CEO.

Westpac has announced the retirement of Alexandra Holcomb, Chief Risk Officer. Holcomb will be replaced by David Stephen, currently serving as Group Chief Risk Officer of UK-based RBS.

The Australian Securities Exchange (ASX) has announced the retirement of Ramy Aziz, Chief Financial Officer.

AMP Limited has appointed David Murray AO as Chairman of its Board of Directors.

The Federal Government has appointed Professor Stephen Smith to Resources 2030 Taskforce.

New Zealand

Westpac New Zealand has appointed Ian Hankins to the position of Chief Financial Officer.


Maybank has appointed Michael Foong Seong Yew to the position of Chief Executive, International.

Manulife Hong Kong has appointed three executives to its senior management team in Hong Kong:

William Man has been appointed Chief Information Officer and Chief Operations Officer;
— Ivan Chan has been appointed Chief Partnership Distribution Officer;
— Selina Ko has been appointed Chief Human Resources Officer and Head of Employee Relations Asia.

DBS Group has appointed Tan Teck Long to the position of Chief Risk Officer.

The Hong Kong Monetary Authority (HKMA) has appointed Colin Pou as Executive Director (Financial Infrastructure).

Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited (HKEX) has appointed Charles Li as the Chief Executive of HKEX for a further 3-year term.