Movers & Shakers, Government Sector | April–May, 2020

Movers & Shakers

Last month saw a number of high-profile appointments across the public sector, with noteworthy additions to the Digital Transformation Agency, The Bureau of Meteorology, and various state-led Covid-19 recovery programs.

The Federal Government has appointed Neville Power to chair its National Covid-19 Coordination Commission (NCC). The Commission will advise the Prime Minister on non-health aspects of the pandemic response. Power is a former Fortescue chief executive and current Perth Airport Chairman.

The NCC’s executive board includes Greg CombetJane HaltonPaul LittleCatherine Tanna, and David Thodey (Deputy Chair). They are joined by the Secretaries of the Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet, Philip Gaetjens, and Home Affairs, Mike Pezzullo.

The Australian Bureau of Meteorology (BoM) has appointed Dr Boris Kelly-Gerreyn as chief data officer. Kelly-Gerreyn served four months in an acting capacity before his official appointment. His role focusses on data management and strategic guidance on meteorological, oceanographic, and climate observing systems.

The Federal Government has expanded the role of Digital Transformation Agency head, Randall Brugeaud, who has been appointed to lead a new Digital Professional Stream Strategy. Brugeaud will be tasked with coordinating a cohesive strategy to upskill digital capabilities across the Australian Public Service.

Data61CSIRO’s data science arm, has appointed Jon Whittle as Director and Chief Executive. Whittle replaces founding CEO Adrian Turner, who departed the agency at the beginning of 2020. Whittle formerly served as Monash University’s Dean of IT and in a senior research capacity at NASA’s Ames Research Center.

The Tasmanian Government has appointed Don Challen to lead its Covid-19 recovery plan under its Economic and Social Recovery Advisory Council. Challen formerly served as Secretary of the Tasmanian Department of Treasury and Finance (1993 to 2010).

The Australian Competition and Consumer Commission (ACCC) has appointed Scott Gregson to the position of acting Chief Operating Officer following the retirement of serving COO Rayne de Gruchy, who had served in the role since 2014.

eSafety, the Federal Government’s independent online safety regulatorhas appointed Rebecca Razavi as Executive General Manager. Razavi most recently served as NSW Treasury’s executive director.

The Western Australia Government has appointed public sector commissioner Sharyn O’Neill as the state’s recovery controller for the Covid-19 pandemic. O’Neill will report directly to WA Minister for Emergency Services Fran Logan and Premier Mark McGowan.

The City of Perth council has appointed Michelle Reynolds as Chief Executive.

The Federal Government has appointed Former Tasmanian Premier, Will Hodgman as the inaugural chair of its Australian Business Growth Fund (BGF). The Fund will work with Australian banks and super funds to assist local businesses with long-term equity funding.

The G20 Global Smart Cities Alliance, based in San Francisco, has appointed Matthew Schultz as its President. Schultz is widely regarded for his expertise in smart cities and 5G technologies. He will retain his role as 5G Trials Project Director at the NSW Department of Planning, Industry, and Environment.

The Department of Parliamentary Services has appointed Catherine Saunders to the position of Deputy Secretary. Saunders has served in the role in an acting capacity since March 2019.

The Federal Department of Health has appointed Lezah Rushton and Elizabeth Sherwin as assistant secretaries within the agency’s Information Technology Division.